The Triumphant Return of… THE HAPPY LIST!!!

Wow.

I’m a slacker.

I could throw out a hundred excuses as to why I’ve abandoned Road to Happy, but that’s exactly what they would be… excuses. So, instead of explaining or trying to rationalize, I’ll just bring on the happy. 🙂

Inspiration in the strangest of places…

I decided that I wanted to create a new bracelet to match the dress I’ll be wearing to next Saturday’s epic X-Files reunion event. (Watch out for more on this later!) I naturally jumped in the car and drove to my friendly neighborhood craft store… name withheld for embarrassing selection of chain fail. Awful! Then, inspiration struck in the form of hardware. What?! Yes, Lowe’s. Now, I’ve made some pretty awesome necklaces out of satin and copper pipe fittings. Yes, copper pipe… the stuff that hold your toilet lines together. Today I opted for the industrial chain section and found some gorgeous cathedral chain in both white (!) and gold. I am having a little trouble weaving satin ribbon through this interesting linkage but am quite enjoying the challenge.

Unexpected deals… and a new, RAD bag 🙂

Borders is closing. No, that does NOT make the happy list. (Though I knew they were in bigger trouble than first thought when my brother’s paychecks started bouncing…) However, with closings come sales. Now, there has been a really rad magazine bag which folds into a purse (!) that I’ve been eyeing in the Paperchase section of the store for a couple of months now. I just couldn’t bring myself to spend the money on it. At this point, knowing that pretty soon it would be gone forever, I resigned myself to the fact that I would purchase it for 10% off. After picking it up and putting it back twice due to RIDICULOUSLY INSANE lines (10% off people…), I finally navigated a fairly short (10 people deep) line with the bag in question and a few magazines. (Hey, those were 40% off and I’ll need airplane reading material!) The unexpectedly cheerful cashier rung it up, and to my very pleasant surprise it was 50% off! Score! So now, not only do I have a new bag… ALWAYS a happy thing… but new design inspiration as well.

Be inspired, and keep thinking of the things that make YOU happy! 🙂

~Jen

 

 

 

~ by sillyauntjen on July 23, 2011.

2 Responses to “The Triumphant Return of… THE HAPPY LIST!!!”

  1. My happy thing for today is the return of the happy list!! Can’t wait to see the new bracelets, I love me some metal!!

Leave a Reply

 
