Happy List! – April 18 & 19, 2011

Things that make me happy… RIGHT NOW!

Experiencing New Cultures

I’ve been lucky enough, in my years of living in several states/cities, to develop friendships with people from all over the world and people of various religions/beliefs. Last night, I attended my first Jewish Passover dinner. I had already been introduced to the world of kosher meals by my good NYC/FL friend Rebecca, but I had yet to attend a formal Jewish occasion. My best friend here in Denver, Dana, decided to have people (ALL of us non-Jews!) over and cook the meal in celebration of her Passover’s past, lovingly cooked by her grandmother who passed away this year. The food was delicious, the company was fantastic and the traditional ceremony was beautiful. P.S. I LOVE matso ball soup!

RuPaul’s Drag Race

My how I’ve missed my queens…

Unexpected Traveling

Last year, during my first year of teaching… Profound Mentally Handicapped ages 14-22… I needed a LOT of breaks. Luckily, I was in a comfortable enough position to be able to travel for a weekend away EVERY month. It was very therapeutic. Since I’ve moved to Colorado in July, I’ve only been out of the state twice. (One was a day trip up to Wyoming.) The itch is insane. I’m a wanderer. I don’t do well in the same place for very long. In the past 2 weeks, I’ve booked 2 trips to California. (One to visit family this Easter weekend, and today, FINALLY, a trip to my friend’s book signing in LA. Can’t wait to celebrate her awesome accomplishment… especially with some fun celebrities in tow!) All those miles I racked up last year have paid off! 🙂

Get out of Dodge, and keep thinking of the things that make YOU smile! 🙂

~Jen

~ by sillyauntjen on April 19, 2011.

One Response to “Happy List! – April 18 & 19, 2011”

  1. Lucky! I’m still trying to come up with where I’m going to stay and if I can get the days off work for E’s event in LA!

    Today my happy thing is FINALLY being able to dig into a video game that’s been put on hold for MONTHS. I ❤ Mass Effect so hard, and I had to stop playing the second one partway through, due to a broken XBox. Happily pouring hours into it at a time now!

Leave a Reply

 
